Bell-Knox-Whitley Kentucky Agency for Substance Abuse Policy Article IV: Board Standards

Criteria for Membership Participation

Permanent Members

- 1. County Judge/Executive or designee
- 2. Executive Director of a community mental health center or designee
- 3. Executive Director of a health department or designee
- 4. Coordinator of a Family Resource or Youth Services Center
- 5. Superintendent of a local school district or designee
- 6. Service Region Administrator of the Cabinet for Families and Children Department of Community Based Services or designee; and
- 7. A representative of the demographic population

Non-Permanent Members

- 1. College/University
- 2. Media
- 3. Judicial System
- 4. Law Enforcement
 - Board representatives shall not exceed two (2) members per category.
 - The Community Mental Health Center and Health Department shall have equal representation.
 - Board members must live within the three counties of Bell, Knox and Whitley, and will be organized to represent the three counties equally.
 - All *demographic populations* and *non-permanent board* members shall serve a term of two (2) years and shall not serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.
 - Two (2) consecutive unexcused absences by a *non-permanent member* to regularly scheduled meetings of the Board shall be interpreted as a lack of interest, unless prior arrangements have been made.
 - The chairperson of the Board will inquire whether the nonpermanent member intends to remain on the board.
 - If the *non-permanent member* indicates he/she is no longer interested or does not reply, a committee will appoint a new board member to be submitted to the KY-ASAP Executive Director.